38 constituencies in 8 southern provinces are still unable to register election candidates due to obstructions from political demonstrators.

Election Commission (EC) secretary-general Puchong Nutrawong revealed that there are currently 38 out of 56 constituencies in 8 provinces of the southern region still unable to register their constituency-based candidates. Those provinces include Krabi, Chumphon, Trang, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Phatthalung, Phuket, Songkhla, Surat Thani.

Mr. Puchong went on to say that the chairperson, the director and other EC related committee members in each constituency are still unable to enter the registration vicinity as protesters have put steel chains around the area barring anyone from going in.

Despite the obstacles, Mr. Puchong insisted that the registration process will be carried out until January 1 of next year, and should there be no registrations, he stated that the EC will decide on a proper action to be taken in accordance with the law.

Mr. Puchong also called on the Election Committee to stop all registrations should violence erupt during the process.

News from NNT